Fri, 07 May 2021

USWNT draws Sweden in Tokyo Olympic groupings

Field Level Media
22 Apr 2021, 00:55 GMT+10

The U.S. Women's National Team will face rival Sweden as well as New Zealand and Australia in Group G action at the Tokyo Olympics.

The groups for this summer's tournament (July 21 to Aug. 6) were announced Wednesday in Zurich, Switzerland.

The U.S. squad is No. 1 in the FIFA world rankings and riding a 39-game unbeaten streak, dating to January 2019.

The Americans are attempting to become the first women's side to win a World Cup and an Olympic gold medal back-to-back.

Sweden eliminated the U.S. in the quarterfinals at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Brazil, ending the Americans' quest for a fourth consecutive gold medal.

Host Japan is in Group E with Great Britain, Canada and Chile. Group F features Brazil, the Netherlands, China and Zambia.

Germany, the defending Olympic champions, failed to qualify for the Summer Games.

--Field Level Media

More Canada News

Access More

Sign up for Canada News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!